Home > Topics of the Week > 10 Things I Learned From My Corporate PR Class.

10 Things I Learned From My Corporate PR Class.

I learned a lot this year in my Corporate PR class, but here is my top 10 list.

#1 Networking is important:  Whether is the traditional face-to-face handshaking way or the newer social media way, networking is important for a PR student.  PR students want a career and the only way to get one is to know people who can help you get there.

#2 Prepare. Prepare. Prepare.  Preparation is something I always have known the importance of, but it seems that it is such a vital aspect in Corporate PR.  If you are not on your toes and prepared for anything, then you are only making it harder on yourself and your company.

#3 Blogging.  I learned the importance of blogging.  Not just fluffy blogging, but actually writing meaningful substance that is meaningful to the readers.

#4 Importance of Social Media.  Before this class I thought social media was just for talking to my friends, but know I know it can be used as a valid tool for PR.

#5 Podcasts are Helpful.  The only podcasts I had ever listen to before was the occasional sports talk show, but I listened to many PR podcasts and they seem to really help me comprehend PR ideas.

#6 Interview Professionals.  Sometimes as a college student it is tempting to think you have everything figured out, but after interviewing a PR professional I learned I had a lot to learn.

#7 How to Produce a Small Campaign.  This semester I had the opportunity to help in a campaign for the new Sprint 4g service.  Our group put on an event and it was helpful to learn the ins and outs of event planning.

#8 Writing is Essential.  After talking to a few PR professionals I learned that writing is essential in the PR world. 

#9 Don’t Be Afraid to Ask Questions.  I didn’t know much about Corporate Pr going in to this class.  I learned to swallow my pride and admit I didn’t know some things.  I learned the importance of asking questions.

#10  Enjoy What You Do.  I have learned that I really love public relations and I feel that it is something that I would love to do.

Categories: Topics of the Week
  1. December 3, 2010 at 8:12 am

    This is a very good list. If you think about it, none of these things are even difficult to do. Networking and interviewing professionals is rather easy to do because most local professionals are eager to help upcoming professionals learn about their field. Enjoying what you do is extremely important because people don’t want to become bored of their careers a few years into the industry. This list is perfect for a new PR student. It’s well-rounded for them to get started in the PR world.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

