Home > Topics of the Week > Site Stats

Site Stats

As I check my stats on this WordPress blog I learn a lot of things about the nature of my blog.  I learn how many people view my site on any given day.  I learn why they came to my site and what they viewed.  I can see if someone referred a viewer from another site and I can see how people found me on a search engine.  These are all important facts that a blogger should know about their site.  When you become aware of these stats then you can cater your site to them.  It will help you know who’s helping you and what people are wanting to read.

I think it is important for a PR professional to check the stats of their company’s website because it can help them in the things I mentioned before.  Knowing who you’re talking to is very important.  Analyzing stats lets you do this very thing. 

I have been blogging for about two years now and I can’t remember many things more important than analyzing my stats.  One good thing about WordPress blogs is that the stats are built-in.  This makes it much easier because you don’t have to go to an outside source for your stats.

Another thing that I would like to add to this post is the value of Google alerts.  This helps alert you when your name is mentioned somewhere online.  I recently used the name of a PR podcast name Coming Up PR.  They contacted me about my post.  I am located in Lakeland, FL, and they are located in Canada I believe.  This just shows the importance of Google alerts because people so far away can see when they are talking about each other.  This helps in networking as well as company awareness. 

I hope you can how much I believe site stat analyzing is important.  I hope it helps you.

Categories: Topics of the Week
  1. December 1, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Thanks for the post Josh. I’ll be honest and say that I’ve been blogging for two years and never really paid much attention to my stats. Things probably would have gone differently if I had been paying attention. I agree with you that by checking them you are able to see what people are reading and what you should possibly put more of in your blog or take out depending on the stats. Stats are really helpful for PR practitioners to do as I said above and as you said to meet the needs of the client or the readers. That’s awesome that Google Alerts did that. Isn’t technology amazing! Keep up the good work Josh!

  2. December 2, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    Josh, thanks for sharing this. Yea, I’ll have to agree with Jeni on this one. I mean I didn’t totally ignore my stats but I would simply glimpse at them probably once a month. It is always important for a PR practitioner to check their progress in effectively communicating with their audiences because that’s one of the main points in public relations. Google Alerts is awesome, it’s so convenient and in your case, it gave you even more publicity! Instead of going out into the web searching for what is being said about you, just set up a Google Alert. Things are so easy now haha.

  1. December 1, 2010 at 10:08 pm
  2. December 2, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Leave a Reply

