Home > Topics of the Week > A Look at Coming Up PR Podcast

A Look at Coming Up PR Podcast

I listened to Coming Up PR podcast.  This podcast centers on public relations and especially students that are interested in public relations.  This exact podcast was about the topic of investor relations.  The public relations professional that they interviewed was a professional in this field. 

Catalina Dorobetti said that in investor relations the main goal is not to pitch the media.  Her main goal for investor relations is financial reporting.  She stated that in this field financial knowledge is beneficial but not a must.  She seemed to think that a communications background is more important.  She also says that social media is very useful.  I would have to agree because social media is taking over most forms of public relations.  Proofreading is something that can make or break a company. 

I really liked this certain podcast because it really appeals to public relations student.  Even though this podcast was presented in a relaxed format, it really gave good information in their question and answer format.  I think it is cool for listeners to hear a different side of public relations.  This podcast is not put out by an older generation which is good but can turn some of the younger generation away.  I think a younger more current format and style can help relate to a younger public relations generation. 

The more podcasts I listened to the more I gained respect for Coming up PR.  Their podcasts are entertaining and actually hold my attention more than most other podcasts.  I gain a lot of insight on different topics in the world of public relations as well as other fields related to public relations.

Overall, I would recommend this podcast to other PR students.  I think it would be beneficial for them to listen.

Categories: Topics of the Week
  1. November 3, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    Personally, I’ve never listened to Coming Up PR but I have listened to other podcasts such as For Immediate Release and InsidePR. Thanks to your post, I have just downloaded a few of the podcasts on to my iPod and am looking forward to listening to a podcast delivered from a student perspective. I agree that it is important that students have the ability to listen to a podcast that comes from those that are in their shoes. I also agree that it is easier to understand podcasts with a modern and more current feel as other PR content delivered from an older generation can seem dated or they may, overall, seem like late adopters of things such as social media. I look forward to listening to Coming Up PR. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. cherylbrean
    November 10, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    Hi Joshua. Thanks for your post and for listening to the podcast! We mentioned your blog post in episode 15 so we hope you can have a listen.

    Please feel free to send us any questions or topics you’d be interested in hearing about. We always love getting feedback from other PR students!

    • December 1, 2010 at 2:25 am

      I listened to episode 15. Thanks for teh shout out. I appreciate it. I love your podcast. Keep up the quality work.

  3. November 11, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    I’ve also listened to Coming Up PR and I agree with you that this is a great podcast for PR students. Sometimes, it can be hard to relate to certain topics or discussions because we don’t have the experience or are immersed in the field yet, but this podcast does away with those issues by talking about things that PR students can really relate to and appreciate. I really love what you said, that “even though this podcast was presented in a relaxed format, it really gave good information in their question and answer format. I think it is cool for listeners to hear a different side of public relations. This podcast is not put out by an older generation which is good but can turn some of the younger generation away. I think a younger more current format and style can help relate to a younger public relations generation.”

    It is so important that we hear different sides of Public Relations and our information isn’t swayed or bias and that it is current. Great Post!

  1. November 3, 2010 at 11:05 pm
  2. November 9, 2010 at 10:21 pm
  3. November 19, 2010 at 8:57 pm

Leave a Reply

