Home > Social Media, Topics of the Week > My Participation in Social Media

My Participation in Social Media

It’s hard to remember a time in my life hasn’t been affected my some sort of social networking.  It has become a part of the lives of the vast majority of people.  There are many advantages and disadvantages to this type of media.  I won’t be discussing this part about it, but I do want to share how I used social media and some advantages to public relations.

I participate in Facebook, a podcast, blogging, and I just recently joined the Twitter phenomena.  I use Facebook for both my social life as well as networking professionally.  I have had a sports talk show podcast for the past year and a half.  Having a podcast has really giving me a chance to get my name out and has help people who would never usually hear my ideas enjoy my opinions. 

My blog that I have been producing for the past two years is dedicated to the outdoors and mainly fishing.  I share thoughts, tips, and reports on my blog.  It gives a sense of self-worth and really lets me get my brand to more viewers.

I encourage everyone, especially people who are interested in PR, to reach out to the world of social media.  It can help your name to more people than you could ever imagine.  (It can be fun too!)

-Josh M

  1. kylamwhite
    September 26, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    I agree. Social media is a huge piece of our generation. We were born with texting fingers. I didn’t think of it until just now, but we have been using social networks since we were incredibly young – Instant Messenger! It was ultimately my first experience with social networking, and I hardly think of that as networking. Then we moved to MySpace, and eventually found our footing in Facebook.
    It will be interesting to see if Facebook fades. I personally don’t think that it will. At least for a very long time!
    That is so cool that you do a podcast! You must have so much fun doing that 🙂

  2. November 4, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    That’s for this post! I totally agree with you, I can’t remember a time without social media. Through the different forms of social media we are exposed to so many different things! That’s awesome that you’re part of so many different forms of social media. I too am a apart of Twitter and even after a year of using it, I’m still not sure how I feel about it! That’s so cool you have a podcast, that’s going to open a lot of doors for you! I’ll be interested to see where our world is in ten years with all the advances in social media.

  1. September 26, 2010 at 11:33 pm
  2. November 4, 2010 at 9:38 pm

Leave a Reply

